Missionary Life

The whole crew for religious testimonies Sr Juliett and Br Vittorio

Hey Guys! It’s been a long time since I’ve had an opportunity to blog and I’ll have to keep this short but I wanted to share some thoughts from my first month as a missionary!

On days like today I feel like though I gave up stuff to become a missionary, I realize that God is rewarding me even more for my decision than what I gave up. It is such an honor to be able to occasionally be the vessel by which God reveals His love to others.

Prayer is so important! When we pray and ask God to allow us to meet someone we need to, it happens! Two quick examples from the past two days:

1. My teammate (TD! Hello?) Perla and I were walking around campus by the dorms before Sunday night mass telling students that there was mass and where it was (so many don’t know!) that night, and beforehand we said a prayer asking Him to direct us to whoever He wanted us to meet. We got to meet my new friend Carlos. He was walking with headphones in the opposite direction, and when I first said hi and tell him about mass, he didn’t even notice me. But Perla was even more persistent (and awkward haha) by coming right up to him so that he had to take his earbuds out. We told him and he was like, “ok, I’ll come with you.” So we headed over together. Turns out he grew up Catholic and was even an altar boy all through high school, but since he is a freshman he had no idea that there was mass on campus. I got to sit with him at mass and exchange contact numbers so that we can go lift and go hiking together. Praise God!

2. Just tonight I was on my way to my discussion group with students about the relationship between science and God when I was texting a friend asking for prayers that I can share the Gospel with many students on campus. It was a wonderful discussion group.. but what was so amazing that there was this woman sitting by who was close enough to hear what we were talking about who started talking with us and was so interested in God and faith. I got to share the Gospel with her and help her get connected with the Newman Center and my contact info so hopefully she will come to understand Christianity more (she believes in God but isn’t sure about stuff, grew up Jehovah’s Witness) soon!

The students at Montclair State University are awesome! It’s a much smaller community than I’m used to at the University of Illinois, but because of that I’m able to get to know them much better!

That daily holy hour and daily mass are so necessary.

Prayers that the rosary group I’m trying to start up will grow would be much appreciated!

Oh yea! I’m going to Nicaragua over spring break on a mission trip with FOCUS missions! Any college aged student is welcome to join! I can’t wait to go to serve the poor and share the Gospel (and live it!) with them!

Any prayers would be much appreciated! Thanks and God bless!

2 thoughts on “Missionary Life

Leave a Reply

