I Am Going To Be A FOCUS (Catholic) Missionary

I am so dumb. I am really dumb. For real.

Hi, my name is Chris. I’m a senior at the University of Illinois at Urbana/Champaign, majoring in Electrical Engineering. Last time I checked, electrical engineering at UIUC is ranked #3 in the nation. Basically, I’m in demand, and the average starting salary for my classmates and I is $60,000 and up.

I’m going to have to fundraise everything I’ll live on for the next two years as a missionary (that’s ~$2,000 a month depending on my location). It’ll be way harder to get a job down the road.

Needless to say, this is a very tough decision for me. I’ve caught a lot of flak for it already, enough to remind me of that youtube hit. But I know that it will all be worth it. And so, for the next two years I will be a FOCUS missionary.

If the world was only about money, power, security, or any other sort of earthly thing, then this really would be a dumb decision. But as I’ve come to grow as a person, as a son of God, I’ve come to realize that some things are more important than others. God is most important. Without God, we all would not be here! God has given me everything that I have: life, family, friends, talents, possessions, everything! And even better than the gift of life in the first place is the opportunity of eternal life with God. Without Jesus, we wouldn’t have an opportunity for salvation! It doesn’t matter what we have in our earthly life as long as we have faith in Him- only Jesus can save us! He died on the cross so that ALL may be saved, not just those who were already of a certain religion. He died on the cross out of love for us, and gave us the Church, the Body of Christ, to continue to proclaim the Gospel and to be Jesus’ hands and feet for everyone, so that ALL could be saved. In Matthew 28:19-20 He told His disciples, “Go, therefore, and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you.”

The most important thing is that people come to know Jesus, so that they know who they are (God’s beloved children) and who they were meant to be (saints!). I can do this most tangibly on campus through meeting up with and forming friendships with students. I hope and pray that God will put me in a position to introduce people to Jesus and encourage them to develop their relationship with Him. I only wish that people will come to know that God loves them, because as much as our culture thinks of Christianity as merely a set of morals and rules, our way of life is actually a response to the love of God who loved us first.

I’ll be on a college campus somewhere in the United States for the next 2 years, leading bible studies, helping students to grow as disciples of Jesus, and sharing the Gospel with all that I can. Yes, I could do a similar thing by working a normal job and leading a bible study or youth group, but it wouldn’t make as much of an impact as this specific mission.

The college campus is the place where most students lose their faith, but it is also the perfect place to find it anew. In college, students finally begin to make decisions for themselves for the rest of their lives and are actively searching for meaning in life. Oh, hello. That’s where I come in: and I’ll attempt to introduce them to this guy named Jesus.

I am very excited to live radically for Christ. When He called the disciples, He didn’t ask them to come sometime when it is convenient for them, but rather called them right then- even when they were in the middle of things. Making a difference in the world doesn’t happen in the future but rather starts right now. I intend to do all that I can to share Jesus- the one who is the hope of our lives, the love of our lives, and the savior of our lives- with everyone that God puts in my life.

“We are fools on Christ’s account” -1 Corinthians 4:10

“Go into the whole world and proclaim the gospel to every creature. Whoever believes and is baptized will be saved; whoever does not believe will be condemned.” -Mark 16:15-16

“How can they call on him in whom they have not believed? And how can they believe in him of whom they have not heard? And how can they hear without someone to preach? And how can people preach unless they are sent? As it is written, “How beautiful are the feet of those who bring the good news!” -Romans 10:14-15

“Many people perceive Christianity as something institutional — rather than as an encounter with Christ — which explains why they don’t see it as a source of joy.” -Pope Benedict XVI

FOCUS’s main thing:

Inviting college students into a growing relationship with Jesus Christ and His Church. Inspiring and equipping them for a lifetime of Christ-centered evangelization, discipleship, and friendship in which they lead others to do the same.

5 thoughts on “I Am Going To Be A FOCUS (Catholic) Missionary

  1. Pingback: #SEEK2013 | Thoughts from a Catholic

  2. Pingback: 15 Tips to Pray Better | Thoughts from a Catholic

  3. Pingback: No Time Like the Present | Thoughts from a Catholic

  4. Pingback: 14 Reasons Why You Should Become a FOCUS Missionary in 2014 | Thoughts from a Catholic

  5. Pingback: Goodbye Montclair | Thoughts from a Catholic

Leave a Reply

