I’m pro-life. Why aren’t you?

Being pro-life is one of the most important things to me. I consider it to be perhaps the most important issue of our generation, with now the HHS Mandate situation also receiving consideration. This post is to explain why I am pro-life and why it is an important issue of our time.

The most fundamental reason why I am pro-life is because life begins at conception. As an engineer, it continues to amaze me how our modern “rational” society refuses to look at this issue from the scientific standpoint. This is something basic that I’d imagine we all learned in high school or even grade school. So what happens at conception?

“The two cells gradually and gracefully become one. This is the moment of conception, when an individual’s unique set of DNA is created, a human signature that never existed before and will never be repeated.” -In the Womb, National Geographic (2005)

“By all the criteria of modern molecular biology, life is present from from the moment of conception.” -Dr. Hymie Gordon, Chairman of the Department of Genetics at the Mayo Clinic

“The exact moment of the beginning of personhood and of the human body is at the moment of conception.” -Dr. McCarthy de Mere, medical doctor and law professor at the University of Tennessee

It’s simpler than you think. If you and I were not conceived, we wouldn’t be here right now. Right? So how did we get here? We were conceived, we grew in the womb, we were born, and we grew up to be who we are. The most important thing that everything hinges on is being conceived.

Did you know:

  • At 25 weeks, 79% of babies survive premature birth
  • At conception, your intelligence and personality is already set in your genetic code
  • Your heart started beating after just 18 days
  • Your hands formed at 3 weeks and your fingers formed at 6 weeks
  • As a fetus, you actually had a stronger sense of pain than you have now, you felt pain longer and more sensitively
  • As children mature, they lose this extra sensitivity for pain that fetuses have

A fantastic site to check out: Just The Facts

So there’s the scientific side of it. Now, if you’re a Christian, I’ve got some bible for you.

“Thou shalt not kill” -Exodus 20:13

Those who commit child sacrifice “he shall surely be put to death” -Leviticus 20:1-5

“What you did for the least of these, you did to me” -Matthew 25:40

Jesus repeatedly taught us to care for the poor, the weak, the defenseless. And who is more poor, weak, and defenseless than a child in the womb nowadays? To think that according to our national law, a fully grown man has more protection than a child in the womb, is sick. I don’t know about you, but that screams selfishness to me.

The right to life is one of the fundamental rights as listed in the Declaration of Independence, and it is appalling that our country would restrict this right. If we do not have the right to exist, what other rights can we assume the government will give us? It’s a scary situation. And now our government is continuing this abuse of our rights by taking away our right of religious freedom.

Abortion has been legal in the United States of America since 1973 even though it kills a fetus, it kills a human person. Over 50 million lives have been lost, and now 1 in 4 pregnancies end in abortion. Abortion disproportionately affects African Americans and Hispanics. If you really care about helping others and supporting those in need, you need to get involved in this struggle to restore our inherant right of life for all the unborn and end this tragedy that has taken many times more lives than the Holocaust. We have a modern day Holocaust of the unborn taking place across the globe that we must stand against to protect the defenseless and those in need. Was it cool to support the Jews during the Holocaust? No. Was the government and the establishment all for the civil rights movement in the 60’s? No. It’s taken time, but we are going to overcome this injustice. The facts don’t lie, Abortion is murder.

More info:
The Catholic Church’s take
The Bible’s take
Mother Teresa’s take
Life Site News
Students for Life

10 thoughts on “I’m pro-life. Why aren’t you?

  1. When I was pregnant, my husband and I enjoyed playing the flashlight game with our babies. In a dark room we would put a flashlight on my stomach and our baby would hit it or kick it. As the mommy I also found it fascinating how each of our babies had their own personality in utero. Each one “liked” different things…for example…one would move in the direction of my husband’s voice and “cuddle” with my hand, one was most active when I was in the water, and one seemed as though she couldn’t wait to come out. I was pro-life before I was pregnant, but being pregnant just amplified my stance as I knew and loved my children as they grew inside of me. Thanks for sharing this post!

  2. Pingback: The Annunciation | Thoughts from a Catholic

  3. Pingback: I’m Pro-Life Because… | Thoughts from a Catholic

Leave a Reply

