Sin

The concept of sin is essential for Christians and Jews, but often, from what I’ve experienced, many people aren’t completely sure what sin even is. Popular culture makes sin something that people shouldn’t do, based off of what the culture thinks. Sin seems pretty relative according to this definition, and with this in mind, what it really is is quite different.

Sin is rejection of God and His ways. I’m sure that you are aware of the first sin, as it is presented in Genesis, with Adam and Eve choosing to eat from the tree of knowledge of good and bad, even though God forbade them. It seems pretty straightforward there, as they literally chose to do something that God didn’t want them to do.

Sin is the abuse of the freedom that God gave us. Imagine if we did not have free will. Now in that case, how could it be possible for us to sin? Sin always requires a conscious choice. This is so much so that it is possible (emphasis on possible, this is all theoretical) for an ingrained alcoholic to not sin for drunkenness, since they have lost their self control. What would be a sin in that case were all of the choices that alcoholic had made beforehand of becoming drunk.

Unless you are Jesus or Mary the Mother of God, you’re a sinner. You, me, all of us. Well, that stinks doesn’t it? Yea. And God is very clear that of all things, worshiping Him and following His commandments are most important. Check out the first commandment:

“I, the Lord, am your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, that place of slavery. You shall not have other gods besides me. You shall not carve idols for yourselves in the shape of anything in the sky above or on the earth below or in the waters beneath the earth; you shall not bow down before them or worship them. For I, the Lord, your God, am a jealous God, inflicting punishment for their fathers’ wickedness on the children of those who hate me, down to the third and fourth generation; but bestowing mercy down to the thousandth generation, on the children of those who love me and keep my commandments.” -Exodus 20:2-6

But despite this whole sin problem, there is always hope. Immediately after the sin in the Garden of Eden, God made an awesome promise for us all, saying to the serpent:

“I will put enmity between you and the woman, and between your offspring and hers; He will strike at your head, while you strike at his heel.” -Genesis 3:15

Look at that! There’s a promise of Jesus, offspring of Mary (the woman mentioned), who will crush the serpent!

What is the need for Jesus, son of God, to come to be with us? Sin is the answer, Jesus came to atone for our sins, which He did on the cross. Because we turned against God by sinning, God gave us another chance with the salvation promised to us by Jesus. Before Jesus, sin offerings were sacrifices of animals in the Temple in Jerusalem. #weaksauce. But Jesus was our perfect and holy offering for all of humanity in order to give us a chance at salvation again. #score! Jesus forgave the people of their sins, and get this: He also instituted a sacrament to forgive us of our sins even today! #noway!

“Whose sins you forgive are forgiven them, and whose sins you retain are retained.” -John 20:23

Sin still is a problem, but look at what solutions we have been given for this problem! So what are you waiting for? Get thee to the confessional! #rightnow

Also see:
Confession

4 thoughts on “Sin

  1. This is great! I just heard a talk about sin the other night. The Fathers of Mercy are visiting my local parish and doing talks each night… last night was about sin! It was interesting what I heard as I thought I had heard all I needed to about sin, but what I learned was all new to me! Here is a bit of what I remember….
    In the Confiteor prayer we say at the start of Mass.. “I confess to almighty God and to you, my brothers and sisters, that I have sinned, through my thoughts and in my words….”
    I say it every time I’m at Mass but I’ve never really realized we are asking forgiveness from our brothers and sisters.. the people in our lives! Why am I asking others to forgive me? Especially when most of my sins are what I think to be as personal or ‘just’ in my thoughts…. so how are they affecting anyone else? But as it was explained in an analogy by the priest speaking– Think of a water faucet. When you turn it on all the way it is coming out at full strength, all the water is flowing. Now imagine this water is your ability to bring others closer to God. Every time we sin, no matter how small or big, the faucet gets turned down a little bit. So the water is flowing much less the more we sin. The more we sin the weaker our bond with Christ is and the ability to show others Christ’s love for them is also weakened. This is why we must confess and ask forgiveness from God, but also from everyone in the world.. out brothers and sisters.

  2. Pingback: Confession | Thoughts from a Catholic

  3. Pingback: A Personal Relationship with Jesus Christ and Evangelization | Thoughts from a Catholic

Leave a Reply

