Being Shy Helps..

Nobody.

Let me give you two profound examples from the past few days. In the first, I finally had the courage to have each of the guys in my bible study meet with me in the campus chapel for a little bit. What I wanted to do was to ask them in a more intimate setting how their faith was and if they knew Jesus. It was some really powerful stuff, they opened up and were honest with me, and through my tough awkward questions and their honesty, I was able to help them out a little bit and help them develop a game plan to help them grow in their faith lives. Praise the Lord! In my second example, just this morning I was praying at Planned Parenthood with our local sidewalk counselor and my friend Lauren when a man came up to us. This man really went at us as soon as we explained what we were standing there for, even saying that there aren’t enough abortions because of overpopulation. A few of his old girlfriends had had abortions because of him, and he was very much opposed to those who he called “anti-choicers.” But then our wonderful sidewalk counselor, God bless her, started talking with him very calmly and helped him to see the other side of the picture a little more clearly. We especially had a lot of progress with the point that since he was a secular humanist, he should be more open to protecting ALL humans, including the unborn. Through our dialogue, we earned his respect and he himself said that he respected what we were doing and wished us well. And he even gave us some prayer intentions so that we could pray for him! Please pray for him, his name is Scott. And get this: Scott recognized Lauren from the daily bread ministry, which Joy also used to work at and I weekly volunteer with. See!? Charities bring people together! It is through service and peaceful dialogue that we can come together and form strong friendships and help there be just a little bit more love in the world.

There are so many times in life where I have the opportunity to start up a good conversation, to ask a deep question, to go out of my way to help a stranger in need, and something gets in the way. It’s more than just being shy, but that’s what I’m going to call it for now. I don’t think that it’s healthy to live your life being too shy. What’s that going do for you anyways? No. Wrong question. More importantly, what’s that going to do for OTHERS? It’s not about us. When you’re on your deathbed and you’re looking back on your life, what are you going to think of? What do you want to be remembered for? I don’t know about you, but I want to be remembered for living my life to the fullest, by loving God and serving Him and by loving others and serving them to the best of my abilities. By the way, that’s the meaning of life. Check out the very first lines of the Catechism of the Catholic Church:

“God, infinitely perfect and blessed in himself, in a plan of sheer goodness freely created man to make him share in his own blessed life. For this reason, at every time and in every place, God draws close to man. He calls man to seek him, to know him, to love him with all his strength. He calls together all men, scattered and divided by sin, into the unity of his family, the Church. To accomplish this, when the fullness of time had come, God sent his Son as Redeemer and Savior. In his Son and through him, he invites men to become, in the Holy Spirit, his adopted children and thus heirs of his blessed life.”

Boss. That’s some beautiful stuff right there.

So what are we called to do? We’re called to become CHILDREN of GOD and HEIRS of GOD! Sick nasty man! And that brings me back to my point. How in the world are we participating in this lifestyle by holding back and worrying about what others think of us? Others may have the power to hurt us and oppress us in this life, but they have NOTHING on us eternally. The only opinion that really matters is God’s, and He kinda thinks we’re cool..

Yea! God came to us in the incarnation, Jesus Christ, and He died for us, each and every single one of us individually. He loves us so much! So my point.. NEVER, NEVER, NEVER worry about what people think about you. God loves you, and there could be nothing better.

For this reason, we should not be afraid to stick our neck out a little. Do it for the Lord. When we do this, we will open up opportunities that we never could have had before. There are so many friendships that we can have, so many fantastic experiences of charity and love, so many things to learn and experience! And if we’re shy, we’re holding back on all of this potential.

We have so much to share with each other if only we let ourselves. Let your love be strong and live life to the fullest.

“The glory of God is man fully alive” -St. Irenaeus

2 thoughts on “Being Shy Helps..

  1. For a Catholic, this post sounds rather unforgiving and lacks empathy. I am a Catholic and I’m very shy, and this really dampens me and makes me feel ashamed. Whilst shyness may be associated with neuroticism (as you mentioned, thinking too much about self? I find it’s a subconscious thing – i don’t actively think about myself compulsively as you make it sound, but self consciousness is definitely a factor), its roots go much deeper than that. A shy person cannot simply just ‘snap out of it’. I hope you can re-evaluate your opinion on shy people – believe me, if we had a choice, we certainly would not have wanted to be shy, but it seems to be a trait that we have been given. Please pray for us. Peace.

  2. Hi Leanne! Thanks for commenting to share your thoughts! I definitely see what you mean. I was super shy when I was a child myself, and I still have my moments nowadays, so my goal wasn’t to bash shyness as much as to encourage people to go out of their way to encounter others if the chance presents itself. Maybe I should change my title, it kind of sets the wrong theme. Sorry if it sounded like I was lacking empathy.. my friends usually call me out on “having no emotions” haha! So I guess my point in this was less about shyness and more about taking a chance to meet someone new, if possible. God has great plans for you, Leanne, and there are so many beautiful things that you can do to serve the Lord, shy or not. God bless you, I just prayed for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

