YOU are loved

*Self-esteem booster alert*

The God of the entire universe specifically and uniquely created you. And then He died for you, literally giving His Body and Blood for you.

“Take and eat; this is my body.” -Matthew 26:26

“Drink from it, all of you, for this is my blood of the covenant, which will be shed on behalf of many for the forgiveness of sins.” -Matthew 26:27-28

Jesus freely laid His life down for us as a perfect, spotless sacrifice, as proof of God’s love for us.

“No one has greater love than this, to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.” -John 15:13

This doesn’t mean that life is going to go perfectly, but it does mean that life is worth leaving, and nobody else’s opinion of us matters. God’s opinion is the only one that matters, and He loves us with the most pure love in the world.

And the funny thing is, the big thing nowadays that we all are taught in public school is “self-esteem,” which is all about our own evaluation of our worth. That doesn’t always work, does it? “Self-esteem” is not the problem, but it definitely is not the answer: one of the most sad statistics I know of is how much the suicide rate of teens has been increasing, with it increasing at least 3 times since the 1950s. Nowadays, 19.3 percent of high school students have seriously considered killing themselves.

What’s awesome about God (among other things) is that He loves us unconditionally. He doesn’t love us because we are good at sports or good looking or popular or Asian or anything. He loves us all, straight or gay, fit or crippled. Unconditionally. Just for being His child, being His creation. You could have just done the worst thing in the world, and He still loves you. And you still have a chance at salvation if you repent. How about that? Seems even more than fair to me. Sounds like love.

“You formed my inmost being;

you knit me in my mother’s womb.

I praise you, so wonderfully you made me;

wonderful are your works!

My very self you knew;

my bones were not hidden from you,

When I was being made in secret,

fashioned as in the depths of the earth.

Your eyes foresaw my actions;

in your book all are written down;

my days were shaped, before one came to be.”

-Psalm 139:13-16

Looking for love? Start by looking up.

4 thoughts on “YOU are loved

  1. I think you already talked about this in another post; I always feel that it is first necessary to understand the worldview of fallen man before beginning to understand salvation. In my experience as a child and teenager, when I would pass by billboards or people with signs that read something along the lines of, “Repent and be saved,” I was always lukewarm to the idea. The reason for this is because I didn’t understand the Catholic worldview about my place with regard to God.

    It seemed that it was some group of people who somehow had this notion about what they knew was right and wrong, and if I didn’t adhere to that, I was not “saved” (whatever that meant). Once again, this is because I didn’t have a proper understanding of man’s relationship to God.

    I never really understood why Jesus’ sacrifice even meant anything because I didn’t see myself as being that bad. You probably already covered the topic, so sorry if this is all unnecessary, but if you haven’t posted about fallen nature, in my opinion it’s good to solidify that before talking about salvation.

Leave a Reply

