Drunkenness

Tomorrow is Unofficial St. Patrick’s Day at the University of Illinois. This tradition only dates back about 16 years, but students and faculty treat it like it belongs with Christmas and Halloween on the calender. Sometimes classes are even canceled because of this event, which officially doesn’t mean a thing. The reason why it was created was because St. Patrick’s Day often falls during spring break here at the U of I, and the owner of a bar decided that he didn’t want to lose all of that extra revenue that St. Patrick’s Day usually brings for the bars. And now, 16 years later, it’s turned into a full 24+ hours of drunkenness,  promiscuity, and immaturity. The whole campus is trashed by Saturday morning. Oh, and at least 2 people have died because of these “festivities.” Yea, it’s not a fun time. The event basically encourages people to misbehave: I even have TAs that joke about bringing alcohol to academic meetings with professors.

Yes, I do not like Unofficial St. Patrick’s Day. But that isn’t really my point for this post.

My point is that Christians shouldn’t get drunk. Let’s be really specific here: there is nothing wrong with drinking alcohol when you are of age. I’m not talking about that. I’m talking about drunkenness.

What does drunkenness say about yourself? It says that I really don’t care about myself and how I behave myself. It says that all I really want is a little high right now, and I don’t care what happens later. It says that I’m willing to put myself in the position to make some bad choices and I don’t care. It says a lot of bad things. Drunkenness is the fastest track to becoming an alcoholic, too.

Since this post is aimed mostly at Christians (I’ll get back to our explaining God and revelation stuff in my next few posts, promise!), I’ll assume you’ll listen to scripture:

“Woe to you who give your neighbors a flood of your wrath to drink, and make them drunk, till their nakedness is seen! you are filled with shame instead of glory; drink, you too, and stagger! On you shall revert the cup from the Lord’s right hand, and utter shame on your glory.” -Habakkuk 2:15-16

“Who, then, is the faithful and prudent servant, whom the master has put in charge of his household to distribute to them their food at the proper time? Blessed is that servant whom his master on his arrival finds doing so. Amen, I say to you, he will put him in charge of all his property. But if that wicked servant says to himself, ‘My master is long delayed,’ and begins to beat his fellow servants, and eat and drink with drunkards, the servant’s master will come on an unexpected day and at an unknown hour and will punish him severely and assign him a place with the hypocrites, where there will be wailing and grinding of teeth.” -Matthew 24:45-51 (This is Jesus speaking!)

“Beware that your hearts do not become drowsy from carousing and drunkenness and the anxieties of daily life, and that day catch you by surprise like a trap.” -Luke 21:34 (This is Jesus speaking!)

“And do not get drunk on wine, in which lies debauchery, but be filled with the Spirit, ..” -Ephesians 5:18

I’d like to challenge every Christian, especially the men, to avoid drunkenness to the best of your ability. We are to be in the world but not of it! This is me challenging you to a higher standard of living, not giving in to these whimsical and fleeting pleasures but rather to run the race to win, with our eyes fixed on the prize, heaven. It is tough, but together we can work together to overcome these desires. Ask the Lord for His grace to persevere. Let’s become sober men in Christ. We will only become better leaders, fathers, workers, neighbors, sons, and brothers by doing this, and help make the world a better place.

More scripture to check out:
Proverbs 20:1
Proverbs 23:29-35
Luke 1:15
Romans 13:11-14
Romans 14:21
1 Corinthians 6:10
Galatians 5:16-21

6 thoughts on “Drunkenness

  1. Amen, brother. I go to a very small college that’s for the most part secluded from town, which essentially limits our interaction with the rest of society. Due to that, the main activity on Campus is drinking. I wouldn’t necessarily say I’ve lost a lot of friends, but I’ve basically seen a LOT of people fall to sins all across the spectrum DUE to intoxication. It’s very unfortunate to be honest. I have no problem with the folks who sit back in their room, have a beer & play some video games – those people are the responsible ones who aren’t harming themselves, society, or their peers in general. Instead, it’s the folks who don’t know how don’t know how to limit themselves and are out there being sinful, reckless, and just ignorant that are ruining society.

    I’m heading out to Canada this upcoming week for our Spring Break Choir Tour, and one of the main concerns of our Choir Director is the drinking age. In most of Ontario, the legal age where you can buy & consume alcohol is 19. For all but two kids in our class, drinking will be an option. I’m going to be completely honest, I plan on having beer on occasion, but I’ve mentally already gone through how many is too many, who I’ll be around, the situations in which I will be in, etc.

    I think if more people took responsibility about drinking, it wouldn’t nearly be the sin it is today. Ephesians 5:18 states: “And be not drunk with wine, wherein is excess; but be filled with the Spirit.” So feel free to feel happy & be joyous, and to have a glass of wine. But be cautious for petesake, and if you begin to affect those around you or yourself for that matter, just don’t do it. Simple as that in my opinion. Very nice post overall!

  2. Those scripture references are relevant… but there are some contradictory ones as well. Jesus’s first miracle was turning water into wine because the wedding party was running low on wine. In those days, it was insulting to the guests for the party to run dry. The miracle was especially remarkable because the wine was high quality and wedding parties didn’t serve high quality wine late in the party because ppl had drank too much to notice a difference. Sure, getting plastered is not good because it can lead to bad decisions. But I think getting tipsy or even a little drunk with your friends is in good taste. When friends are willing to lower their inhibitions together it builds trust and bonds friendships.

    • Greg, there is a very big difference between having wine in a responsible manner at a wedding and the drunkenness that we are talking about here. Of course it’s ok to have fun and enjoy yourself, but if you are getting drunk you have taken it too far. Too many excuses. Read what Jesus said. That Man our Lord died for us all, He knows what He’s talking about.

      “When friends are willing to lower their inhibitions together it builds trust and bonds friendships.” I could not disagree more. Want to build up a trusting friendship? Stay in the truth together, make it a loving caring relationship. Help each other overcome the others temptations. Encourage. Friends that let each other slip off aren’t doing each other a favor. Friendships should build us up, not tear us down. We were made for more than selfish pursuits.

  3. Pingback: Oh Canada – Spring Break 2012 (Part I) | Call Me Catholic

  4. Pingback: Sin | Thoughts from a Catholic

Leave a Reply

